Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo was on Monday night crowned in Zurich as 2016 FIFA World Player of the Year. Lionel Messi of Barcelona came second but he decided to give the gala a wide berth.

More details are emerging about how the top players voted and the first two made interesting choices. The Portuguese voted for his teammates Gareth Bale, Luka Modric and Sergio Ramos respectively while the Argentine did the same by going for Andres Iniesta, Neymar and Luis Suarez.


Other voters include national team mangers and Captains from all over the World and selected media personalities. Ronaldo got 34.54%per of the total vote, with Messi garnering 26.42% to finish second.

Ronaldo added FIFA ‘The Best’ award to his earlier European accolade Ballon d’Or award which he scooped in December.