In 1963, Lev Yashin became the first and the only goalkeeper to win the coveted FIFA Ballon d’Or. No other shot stopper has won it to date. Reason? It is only FIFA and all those who get the chance to vote every year for the best player in the World can explain.

Lionel Messi has won five while Cristiano Ronaldo has three. Nobody will come close to the two until that time they are both gone.

But who are the top five goalkeepers who should have taken home football most prestigious individual award but didn’t?

5. Manuel Neuer – Germany and Bayern Munich.

Cristiano Ronaldo won 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or ahead of Barcelona star Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer. It is quite clear why it was so easy for the Portuguese to pip everybody else to the award after enjoying one of the most prolific seasons of his career with Real Madrid.


The forward players have been taking all the glory for years now. In 2006 Fabio Cannavaro shocked many when he managed to beat everybody else to win it but that was a rare exception.

It is therefore hard to understand how a player who guided his team to World Cup glory in Brazil last year did not win it. He deserved it. His sweeping role in the German national team was so important because it allowed the team to throw more men forward. His presence on goal terrified any striker in the tournament.


He was and still is one of the strongest characters in both Bayern Munich and Germany. This was a great opportunity for FIFA to show the World that even goalkeepers matter but they failed. He still has a chance to win it but if he doesn’t history will not forgive all those responsible.

Individual Awards

  • Fritz Walter Medal U19 Silver Medal 2005
  • Silbernes Lorbeerblatt: 2010
  • Footballer of the Year in Germany: 2011, 2014
  • ESM Team of the Year: 2011–12,2012–13
  • UEFA Euro Team of the Tournament: 2012
  • 2013 UEFA Champions League Final: Fans’ Man of the Match
  • IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper: 2013, 2014
  • FIFA/FIFPro World XI: 2013,2014
  • UEFA Team of the Year: 2013,2014
  • UEFA Champions League Team of the Season: 2013–14
  • UEFA Best Player in Europe Award Second place: 2014
  • FIFA World Cup Golden Glove: 2014
  • FIFA World Cup All-Star Team: 2014
  • FIFA World Cup Dream Team: 2014
  • L’Équipe’s player of the year: 2014
  • AIPS Athlete of the Year: 2014
  • AIPS Europe Athlete of the Year – Frank Taylor Trophy: 2014
  • L’Équipe Champion of Champions: 2014 Runner-up
  • FIFA Ballon d’Or: 3rd place 2014

See Also: Top 7 Kenyan Football STARS playing in Top Leagues TODAY