Kenya Premier League also known as SportPesa Premier League was founded in the year 1963 the same year the country gained internal self rule. The league is composed of 16 teams. The most popular teams are Gor Mahia and AFC Leopards and they also happen to be the two most successful clubs in the league history.

The league has grown significantly in recent years thanks to sponsorships from pay television giant Super Sport (DsTV) and trophy deals with betting firms Sportpesa.

Let us now take a look at 12 most successful clubs in Kenya football history;

6. Pentagon-1 title

Pentagon is made up of five clubs that has won the Kenyan Premier League only once in their history. They include Feisal, Mathare United, Sofapaka, SoNy Sugar and Utalii FC.


Faisal won the title in the year 1965 only two years after the League was launched. The team was based in Mombasa but it has since been disbanded.


Sofapaka and Mathare United were the last two sides to challenge the big three side AFC Leopards, Gor Mahia and Tusker FC.

See Also: Top 7 Kenyan Football STARS playing in TOP Leagues TODAY